Public Document Pack



Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 j.roney@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Extension, Manchester M60 2LA

Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 19th May, 2021

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 19th May, 2021, in Exchange Auditorium, Manchester Central Convention Centre, Windmill Street, Manchester, M2 3GX.

6. Seniority of Councillors

3 - 6

The statement of the City Solicitor concerning the seniority of councillors is enclosed.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Six individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

Abdullatif, Akbar, Azra Ali, Ahmed Ali, Nasrin Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Baker-Smith, Bano, Battle, Bayunu, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Chohan, Clay, Collins, Cooley, Connolly, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Foley, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hilal, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Hussain, Hutchinson, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, T Judge (Chair), Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, J Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Mary Monaghan, Moore, Newman, Noor, Nunney, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, Robinson, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, A Simcock, Stanton, Stogia, Strong, Taylor, Wheeler, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Hugh Barrett, Andrew Fender, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, Nilofar Siddiqi and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the meeting Clerk:

Andrew Woods Tel: 0161 234 3011

Email: andrew.woods@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Wednesday, 12 May 2021** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 3, Town Hall Extension (Lloyd Street Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA

Manchester City Council Report for Information

Report to: Council – 19 May 2021

Subject: Seniority of Councillors 2021/22

Report of: City Solicitor

1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 6 May 2021, and the ballot that the Lord Mayor subsequently conducted on 12 May 2021 to determine the seniority of newly elected councillors without previous qualifying service, the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

Seniority by Office

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor
The Deputy Lord Mayor
The Leader of the Council
The Leader of the Opposition

Patrick Karney

Richard Leese

Basil Curley

Eddy Newman

Glynn Evans

Susan Cooley

Paul Andrews

Bernard Priest

Joanne Green

Joanne Oreen

John Flanagan

Tom Judge

June Hitchen

Abid Chohan

Naeem Ul-Hassan

Andrew Simcock

John Leech

Rosa Battle

Sameem Ali

Veronica Kirkpatrick

Luthfur Rahman

Suzannah Reeves

Rabnawaz Akbar

Suzanne Richards

Julie Reid

Tracey Rawlins

Aftab Razaq

Matthew Strong

Bev Craig

John Hughes

Carmine Grimshaw

Shelley Lanchbury

Joan Davies

Nasrin Ali

Ahmed Ali

Luke Raikes

Angeliki Stogia

Shaukat Ali

Joanna Midgley

Afia Kamal

Tina Hewitson

Donna Ludford

Sarah Russell

Azra Ali

Sandra Collins

Yasmin Dar

John Hacking

James Wilson

Rebecca Moore

Mandie Shilton Godwin

Emily Rowles

Dzidra Noor

Basat Sheikh

Paula Appleby

Dave Rawson

Garry Bridges

Sarah Judge

Lee-Ann Igbon

John Farrell

Paula Sadler

Emma Taylor

Mary Monaghan

Mahadi Mahamed

Hannah Priest

Zahra Alijah

Chris Wills

Jill Lovecy

Ali Ilyas

Annette Wright

William Jeavons

Sam Lynch

Sean McHale

Majid Dar

Eve Holt

Sam Wheeler

Ben Clay

Adele Douglas

Gavin White

Fias Riasat

Jon-Connor Lyons

Marcus Johns

Tim Whiston

Shazia Butt

Greg Stanton

Jade Mary Doswell

Amna Saad Omar Abdullatif

Becky Chambers

Julie Connolly** (previous service 2015 -18)

Marcia Hutchinson

Debbie Hilal

Rob Nunney

Thomas Robinson

Ekua Bayunu

Muqqadash Bano

Julia Baker Smith

Zahid Hussain

Linda Foley

Notes

Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the members marked **.

* The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 12 May 2021.

City Solicitor

12 May 2021

